Goooo Team!

All I could do to make it stop was to either run out into open traffic or put my earphones on. I opted for the latter.

I made it to the gym early this morning and all I could hear was the aerobics instructor’s high whining voice. She sounded like a revved-up high school cheerleader and it was eating at my brain.

The mirrored sliding door was slightly open and I could see a handful of girls stomping and bopping and jumping and bumping. It looked like a crazy dance routine and the energy was flowing.

The class soon came to a finish when a round of applause filled the air as if Isaac Stern just got done playing a violin concerto at Carnegie Hall.

A stream of smiley and sweaty students tiredly evacuated the aerobics room leaving an air of accomplishment behind.

I just finished a set of partial deadlifts and watched the estrogen parade as I rested.

As I analyzed the diehard dance demons, I thought to myself why haven’t many of these girls lost any weight after such repeated effort.

I’m not going to lie to you, classes do work for weight loss after all it is a form of exercise.

However if your diet isn’t in check, you can bebop till the cows come home, but your weight loss goals might as well be put out to pasture.

Now the sciency part-

In 2003 researchers analyzed data from the 1998 National Health Interview Survey, which was conducted through face-to-face interviews of a nationally representative
sample of U.S. adults (n =32,440) [1].

The results were rather perplexing. Only one-third of all those trying to lose weight
reported eating fewer calories and exercising more
. However the most common
strategies among those trying to lose weight were eating fewer calories, eating less fat, and exercising more.

I guess the old adage- saying and doing are two different things- stands to reason here.

The researchers concluded by stating, “increased efforts are needed to promote effective weight-loss strategies among those who are obese and to promote the use of
calorie reduction along with increased physical activity in those who attempt weight loss.”

You see folks, you can’t expect results by just attending a couple of exercise classes per week and then chowing down like a crazed wilder beast.

It just ain’t gonna happen.

Check out the video below for a (exercise vs. eating) comparison.

References

1.  Kruger J, et al. Attempting to Lose Weight: Specific Practices Among U.S. Adults. American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 2004; 26 (5): 402-406. Available online:
http://download.journals.elsevierhealth.com/pdfs/journals/0749-3797/PIIS0749379704000285.pdf

Comments are closed.